8 Days Tsavo & Masai Mara Safari

Maasai Mara safari experience

Maasai Mara safari experience : The five African species that early big game hunters believed to be the most challenging and dangerous to hunt on foot in Africa are referred to as the “Big Five.” The African elephant, lion, leopard, Cape buffalo, and rhinoceros are some of these creatures. The majestic Maasai Mara National Reserve is a great place for safari enthusiasts to witness the Big Five Mammals. There are game drives, guided nature walks, and hot air balloon safaris available to visitors which aid them to spot the big five mammals clearly.

Big five mammals.


This is the largest land animal in the world. A few of the adults have a maximum height of three metres. Elephants often live in groups, with the females being headed by a matriarch and the younger females and their young around her. The adult males, known as bull elephants, are typically solitary animals. Despite the fact that they are considered by many as gentle giants, elephants can be extremely dangerous and have been known to charge at vehicles, humans and other animals when they feel threatened.


The lion is often called the king of the jungle because it is the fiercest and largest predator on land. Zebras, impalas, giraffes, and other herbivores, particularly the wildebeest, are among the natural prey of lions. Lions typically form prides of twelve. Males can be distinguished from females with their wavy manes and are generally much larger. But the majority of the hunting is done by the females. Although they have been known to attack humans, lions tend to be serene animals that do not usually seem assaulted by close proximity to people.


Unlike the lions, leopards are almost always found alone. Because they hunt primarily at night, they are the most elusive of the big five. The best time to find them is very early in the morning or at night. During the day you must search meticulously for these animals who usually can be found partially camouflaged in the undergrowth or behind a tree.


Of the big five, the buffalo is arguably the most deadly to people. Buffaloes are known to charge with incredible speed when challenged since they are fiercely territorial and protective animals. The majority of the time, buffalo live in big herds and groups. They graze the floodplains and savanna for the majority of the day. The other adults tend to congregate around the calves for protection, but the dominant bulls will typically take an aggressive, watchful stance when approached.

Maasai Mara safari experience


The rhinoceros is a threatened species. It is an uncommon treat to even spot one from a distance. Rhinos come in two varieties: black rhinos and white rhinos. The white rhino’s name comes from the Dutch term “weid,” which means wide, rather than from its actual hue, which is more of a yellowish grey. This alludes to the creature’s enormous jaws. They may graze because of their broad lips and square jaw. The black rhino, on the other hand, eats leaves off shrubs and trees with its sharper jaw. Compared to black rhinos, white rhinos are more abundant and considerably larger.

book a trip